A-Z Challenge: P is for Problematic

Problematic is such a great word and I use it so much in my life.  Actually, that’s not true.  I never say the word problematic unless I’m writing.  Don’t get me wrong, lots of things are problematic in my life, I just never use the word.  I tend to ignore problematic things.
Take for example the fact that I am naturally lazy.  It’s a gift… a gift that is sort of a curse.  I am relaxed most of the time but laziness breeds procrastination.  I’d rather not do things when I have time to do them.  I’d rather be doing something else, like say nothing.  So I put off what I could do now in favor of doing nothing now and leaving it all for later.  Unfortunately, later does eventually arrive and then I freak out just a little at having so much to do and wondering where all of the ‘now’ went.
Freaking out, even a little, is problematic.  It is not helpful, it does not offer solutions and it wastes more time than procrastination.  It also increases the production of stress hormones.  I know the name of those hormones and being a biochemist could list them here but it’s boring so I won’t.  I’ll just say that they are problematic.  Stress is problematic.  It is counterproductive for me much of the time.
Fortunately, one gift that is not problematic is my ability to accomplish remarkable things at the last minute.  I have done entire successful science projects in less than an hour.  I have rewritten a novel that took months to write – in less than a week.  I can’t leap buildings in a single bound but I have done some things damn near close…keep reading
Leave a Reply

