First drafts: allowing the worm to navigate the soils of your mind

Very insightful thoughts on the matter

Gabriela Blandy - The sense of a journey

I decided to go on a retreat a few years ago. When people asked me why, I tried to explain, but always got a sense I’d left something out; I circled back to the beginning, tried again. Words followed words, my voice grew shrill. I felt there was one piece of information that would clarify it all, but I didn’t know what it was. I kept searching, talking; overcrowding my thoughts with exhausting analysis.

It’s rather like the beginning of a story.

At first, I feel a gentle sense of pressure. I wonder if I imagined it, but no, there it comes again – a jab now. It’s driving me on, but I can’t explain it. I keep searching for answers, starting, having to go back – certain I’ve overlooked the most important detail. But now it’s too crowded – I can’t find my way through.

That’s when I know…

View original post 1,720 more words

2 thoughts on “First drafts: allowing the worm to navigate the soils of your mind

  1. It’s always such a pleasure when people tip their hat and reblog you, so that’s for the extra special validation. I’m just thrilled that this meant something to you. The words are only as good as what they mean to people.

Leave a Reply

