Seriously…

I stumbled across a book today, and by that I mean I literally stumbled across it.  It fell out of a closet and onto the floor in front of me.  As I picked it up I thought, hey, I could skim through this again.  It’s a book most people are familiar with “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff… and it’s all small stuff.”

Anyway, I was in the mood not to benefit from this well thought out wisdom of the ages.  I was actually in a rather contrary mood as I was in my ‘I need something to write about tonight’ mood so everything I run across is possible fodder for my blog – ready to disregard or at least scoff at the “simple ways to keep the little things from taking over your life.”  Funny then that I should open the book to number 30. Choose Your Battles Wisely.

I read this little ditty not with the mind of someone applying it to everyday life rather with the mind of a writer.  This section is all about choosing carefully what you let stress you out.  You have to consciously avoid nit picking and letting every little mistake bother you.  As a writer, I just can’t do that.  I often fight battles not with the outside world but with myself, with my own mistakes and those of my characters.

I couldn’t help but laugh at the line, “If your primary goal isn’t to have everything work out perfectly but instead to live a relatively stress-free life, you’ll find that most battles pull you away from your most tranquil feelings.”  Well… yeah… of course they do.  It is my job to edit my work which is the act of nit picking, letting every little mistake be a big deal, rewriting, recreating, reworking characters.  In fact I think that those who wish to live a stress-free life should avoid being writers.

2 thoughts on “Seriously…

Leave a Reply

