Day 5 Another Blog Challenge

Here it is five days in and I’m still with it – today’s post is supposed to be: Top 10 Songs You’re Listening To Right Now.  I was going to skip this one because my taste in music varies so much that narrowing down ten songs seemed tough.  This is not to mention that my choices would most likely be whatever happened to be playing on the radio at the moment.  And even those choices are just whatever station happens to not have a commercial on at the time.  I don’t listen to commercials; I flip stations as much as it takes to find music.

Then something happened.  Actually, this something happens every day around 5:00 p.m.  Dinner.  I cook dinner every night around 5 p.m.  The thing is, not being a real fan of doing dishes or setting the table or for that matter getting out a bunch of things to cook a meal and really not a fan of any particular food itself – I have motivation issues with cooking dinner.  It takes a bit of music to motivate me to get my butt off the couch, away from the laptop and into the kitchen.  So every day I open up Pandora Radio.

It was tonight as I was cooking dinner that I realized I do have around ten consistent songs I listen to that I like.  They are all on my ‘channel’ on Pandora.  So for your amusement, I will reveal to everyone ten of the songs I listen to most frequently, in no particular order as I like them all equally.  Without further ado, here’s the list:

Blame it on the Boogie by the Jackson 5

Celebration by Kool and the Gang

Beat It by Michael Jackson

Aint No Mountain High Enough by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell

Get Ready by The Temptations

Do You Love Me by The Contours

Signed, Sealed, Delivered by Stevie Wonder

I Second That Emotion by Smokie Robinson & The Miracles

Boogie Wonderland by Earth, Wind & Fire **This one has the best video**

Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go by Wham *Also a great video*

And another one as a bonus: We Will Rock You by Queen

You’ve been warned.  For anyone who happens to be in my house at dinner time, there will be me dancing in the kitchen (or something close to it or perhaps embarrassingly not even close to it) singing along to a few oldies and most likely using a spatula for a microphone.  I did not list them all here but there are quite a few Michael Jackson songs from back in the day when he wasn’t a total lunatic that I listen to like Thriller, PYT (Pretty Young Thing) and Bad among others.  I like to practice moon walking from the stove to the refrigerator.  Just so you know.

8 thoughts on “Day 5 Another Blog Challenge

        • I really just like Celebration. I think it’s upbeat and it reminds me of weddings that I’ve attended and the receptions.

        • You must not work in corporate America; there’s not one damned annual meeting or big-assed employee gathering where “Celebration” isn’t played. Kool and the Gang doesn’t ever need to tour or release another album, as long as the Bank of Americas and Wal-Marts of the world keep paying them royalties just to use their song.

  1. Can’t say that I do work in corporate America but I suppose I might not like the song as much if I had to hear it at such an event as you describe. Do they also play those other get-together classics like YMCA and Shout?

  2. I have just over 59,000 songs that I listen to. They are in my music collection. When I’m cooking in the kitchen, it’s not unusual to find me with my headphones on and this long cord running from the kitchen down the hallway and into the office, connected to the computer so I can listen to all my music while I cook. Unlike you, though, I listen to my music in chronological order, from 1932 to 2013. If I didn’t do that I would listen to nothing but The Beatles, and there certainly is a lot more great music in the world than just The Beatles.

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

