Day 3 of Another Blog Challenge

By JccKeith

Look at me all getting with the program on this one.  Item number 3 on the list for this blog challenge is to offer up my favorite quote.  I am assuming this means to enlighten you with my most favorite quote of all time.  Unfortunately, this is for most people their mantra – words they live by – or perhaps some profound wisdom they keep close to their heart.  Then again, it could just be some catchy saying they have printed on a t-shirt they love to wear, maybe cross stitched onto a pillow on their couch.

I have plenty of quotes that I like.  I have a few prime words of wisdom I sometimes adhere to in my daily excursions like “Look both ways before crossing the street.”  That one I find is very helpful to remember.  And then there are those wonderful words about “Do unto others …” you know the one I’m talking about, that good old golden rule.

I’d like to say that I live my life by the golden rule of doing unto others as I would have done to myself.  I’d like to say that but honestly it’s just not true.  I have my moments of random kindness, extraordinary patience and overall goodwill towards my fellow humankind.  If you are behind me in line at the grocery store and you have only a couple of things and my cart is full – I’ll be nice and offer to let you go ahead of me.  I’m all benevolent like that with my coveted space in lines.  I try, I really do.

Now on the other hand, I have my moments of bad behavior.  If you cut me off in traffic – chances are good it’ll piss me off and I’ll start cursing like a sailor about it – which is stupid since you can’t hear me and it makes no difference at all in this big bad world.  There are times when my maturity level dips below my shoe size and I’ll argue about insignificant things, maybe toss out a few names and every once in a while – pout like a spoiled child.  But hey, I’m only human.

Back to my favorite quote, I realize I have not given one, not really.  The thing is, my favorite quote changes with the current circumstances.  When I’m feeling all wise all literary-ish, my favorite quotes are from Emerson and Thoreau.  When I’m feeling defeated, my favorite quotes are inspirational things by various people that well, inspire me to keep on keepin’ on.

The truth about great quotes is, they can all be simplified down to a few general rules for living:

Be Yourself

Stop Talking and Listen

Learn whenever possible

Live Life to the Fullest

Love

And Laugh – a lot.

For everything else in life – there is duct tape.  Trust me, it will fix almost anything.

7 thoughts on “Day 3 of Another Blog Challenge

  1. Pingback: ~31 Day Blogging Challenge~ DAY 3 | My Life~ and your's

Leave a Reply

