I’m a Raving Music Fan!

Hey guess what?  Yep, you guessed it – It’s Saturday!  Alright, well some of you may have had some other guesses like I’m wearing rainbow colored socks or wrestling an alligator but you’d be mostly wrong.  I don’t wrestle alligator’s on Saturdays, instead I write web posts and rant or rave about things.  Just so you know.
Last night was Friday – that happens quite frequently, Friday nights precede Saturdays – but last night was different.  I went to a place in downtown Louisville called the Haymarket Whiskey Bar to see one of my new favorite bands, The Blue Soul Gypsys.
First off, I’d like to say a few good words about the bar.  It was small and eclectic and most importantly, had tons of Star Wars memorabilia on the walls.  I arrived early and was able to meet the owner and bartender, Matt.  He took the time to discuss and explain to me the difference in whiskeys, what a rye whiskey is, the differences in bourbons and a few various other things I asked about.  He was able to recommend a beer that I had never heard of named Wittekerke that I thoroughly enjoyed.  I have a thing for Belgian wheat ales and Wittekerke was perfect.
I found this excerpt of explanation from the globalbeer.com website:
Wit-style: A true wit beer must be made of at least 25% wheat malt in combination with barley malt.  Belgian wit beers are naturally cloudy since they are unfiltered.
Wittekerke charms you with its own character, smooth taste and a unique delicious aroma.  A very pleasant drink, light in alcohol with a crisp and refreshing flavor
Personally, I would never say anything even remotely close to, “Why yes, it charmed me with its character, smooth taste and unique delicious aroma.”  In fact, I doubt I’ve ever said anything ‘charmed me’ or had a ‘unique delicious aroma.’  I’m not a foodie.
Anyway – back to why you all are reading this post, to find out why I’m raving about music.  Well, I’m raving about music today because last night I saw a band that reminded me of why I love music.  It was inspiring.  The best I can describe it was to say that it was what talent sounds like.  I was just blown away at how good they were.  Sometimes you see someone play and you just feel that they have what it takes to make it in the music world.
I already liked their music as I had listened to it on their Facebook page and on the ReverbNation site.  It is new and different and honestly, I must have listened to a couple of the songs a hundred times.  I like them, the words are cool and the music is catchy.  And I don’t mean catchy in that pop music, candy coated snapping your fingers to the beat kind of way.  I mean catchy in a wow this is different and someone with real talent wrote this, kind of like when you hear a Rolling Stones song for the first time, way.
The thing that really strikes me about this band is that they have that rare combination of talent, passion and determination.  These guys love what they do and they are good at it – that fact really comes through in their show.  I just can’t say enough about how awesome it was to see them play live.
And … I would like to give a shout out to The Blue Soul Gypsys’ manager Jacob Langley.  He was great and more than happy to talk to me about the band and their vision.  Check him out at Pandaruella Productions.

Catch up with The Blue Soul Gypsys at any (or all) of their upcoming shows:

  • Tonight, June 1, 2013: Freeman Lake Park in Elizabethtown, KY
  • June 21, 2013: Headliners Music Hall in Louisville, KY
  • September 14, 2013: Via Colori in Elizabethtown, KY
A quote from the music spotlight of The Blue Soul Gypsys to remember:
“We live by a code of

“A dream that you dream alone remains a dream but a dream that you dream together becomes reality. One person alone can’t do it but a group of people together can accomplish anything.””

 

Leave a Reply

