Saturday Laziness and Chat about Cake and Gum

Today’s post is a little bit of silliness.  I talk about enjoying life and the little things like cake and candy and most importantly, bubble gum….

I had spent the entire evening conversing with real people in face to face conversations.  I had laughed.  I had been entertained. I had complained, just a little, about property taxes (but we won’t get into the government and their random property tax assessments and complete lack of ability to do their job).  It felt good to be out and about.  It felt great to communicate on something other than the internet.

And then there was cake, have I mentioned the cake?  Cake was followed by candy.  Yes, candy, from a parade no less.  Free candy I didn’t have to go door to door to obtain, I didn’t have to shell out an arm and a leg to buy at a store, I didn’t receive by default as leftovers from some holiday – it was just a bag of unexpected candy.

There were Blow Pops, I love Blow Pops.  Blow Pops are dreamy sugar with every lick and then when you can’t take it and bite into the hard candy shell, you are rewarded with the prize – gum.  Sweet, sticky, wonderful gum.

There were Dum Dums.  There were Tootsie Rolls.  There were Starburst.  Most importantly, there was bubble gum.  I love the simple joy of chewing bubble gum.  That moment, that amazingly tasty moment when you first put it in your mouth and experience the sweet savory rush of absolute sugar is without compare.  It is ever so brief as you chew and chew to obtain more and more sugary flavor until that few seconds later when it has lost its taste and is just a wad of something chewy now sticking to your teeth.

At the point of loss of flavor of gum, it becomes a whole different thing.  It is now this wonderful piece of stretchy something that you can blow bubbles with.  I love blowing bubbles and then withdrawing my breath quickly to make that sharp –pop!-  Yes it is annoying when other people do it but I do it anyway because it’s fun.  Gum is nothing short of fun filled entertainment for at least a few good minutes.  After a few minutes it has annoyed enough people that it must be discarded and harmony returned to the room.

In a world full of terrible things and terrible people, I managed to not think about any of them tonight.  I didn’t read any horrible stories on the news.  I didn’t pour my heart out into any legends or stories or in editing my novel.  I didn’t have anything to do tonight except be…. Keep reading

2 thoughts on “Saturday Laziness and Chat about Cake and Gum

Leave a Reply

